Self Denial

I am not a teacher, not a therapist, not a guru, not somebody who climbs a pedestal and preaches the right thing to be and the right thing to do, as well as the wrong things to be and to do. The reason is not that I don’t have diplomas, status to do that -I never seek to have those, by the way- but because I want for myself something which most often contradicts some traits that teachers have. I want myself and others to be self-driven. I don’t want them to be at odds with themselves. I don’t want them to doubt themselves. I don’t want them to deny themselves. Mind you, I don’t mean all therapists, gurus, nor all teachers. I don’t mean to not take any information, for that would mean no communication. I mean nobody can be authority over another.

All that I write in here, are meant to lead there. And if I advise something, it is independence –essentially, it is no advices. I wouldn’t want anyone to depend on my righteous advices, even if I could. I don’t want to be followed. I as a mere being wish to communicate, from time to time. It’s as simple as that.

I don’t care how many diplomas, badges of honor, money, titles, etc etc etc a person has, when it comes to believing him. I stick with my own point of view. And if my viewpoint doesn’t fit therein, if what I want is no aligned with he wants, I simply don’t join in. If we match, then we match. But then I don’t expect him to tell me what my viewpoint should be, so that we will match.

When it comes to choosing what to be and what to do, you shouldn’t consult anybody. Why? Because you are in your core perfect. And all the imperfections you might notice, are byproducts of self denial. And those cannot be solved with more self denial. You know who you are, what you want, what you agree with, and what you like. Don’t let anyone change that. You know if you like to talk to somebody or not. Don’t talk out charity nor out of obligation, nor out of some other idea(s). Don’t be something, nor engage in activities just so you’ll be ‘socially OK’. In short if you don’t like something, don’t like it. If you don’t agree with something, you don’t have to. If you don’t want to do something, don’t do it. There is no “I have to go out, because if I stay in I wont be cool and I wont be social and blah blah blah”. No. Go out if, when and however you want to go out, and associate with whomever you want to. I don’t care what -isms and -ologies say. You are fortunate to have a trash bin. So, if you want an advice from me, take all advices you have ever taken, and throw them in the trash. And the less you will deny yourself, the easier our life be, and the less you will be denied by others too.

Ethics and self denial go together, but in reverse. It is the opposite than what they preach. You are ethical. Your will is ethical, naturally. Through self denial, you can make it unethical.

Those people that need to be contained so they wont harm others, have already engaged in denying themselves, to a great degree. That’s why they harm others. They do to others what they do to themselves. It isn’t true that they gain anything by harming. They harm themselves.

And I don’t point out any ‘true self’ that you will deny yourself either –no no no. You are that true self. You will never become another self. It’s the self denial, and the consequent maladies that you could discard.

I’m not promoting any separation from others, either. Free beings can co-operate, love, create, understand -or not- at will, and much better than brainwashed slaves.

Enjoy

24 thoughts on “Self Denial

  1. Spyros, I don’t mean to evaluate for you, but I get the feeling you’ve been on the path you’re on for more than this lifetime.

    Do you mind saying which philosophies you’ve studied and practiced besides the two you’ve talked about? (And besides your own, of course. 😉 )

    1. I’ve read from various philosophers from time to time. Also some with which I now disagree –more new age.
      But practices… nothing serious.

      Your feeling is right. I’ve done it before. 🙂

        1. Yes, it might as well be that ‘basic purpose’, I had. But now I as-is that, too. As well as the path(s). It’s strange to explain. I feel nothing is needed (paths etc).

          It would be better to ask me what I do agree with. FML.

          1. “I feel nothing is needed (paths etc).”

            What’s wrong with paths?

            “It would be better to ask me what I do agree with. FML.”

            So what do you agree with? And how does that relate to “FML”?

            1. “What’s wrong with paths?”

              I didn’t think in terms of right and wrong. But that they’re not needed.

              From your own Mooji video: “The job is already done”.

              1. Yes, “The job is already done.” Said another way,”The real cannot be found because it was never lost.” (Quoting Mooji.) In the video, he also says:

                “But there’s some things you need to realize in order to stop being what you’re not. Investigating yourself is one, which is precisely what we’re doing here. You’re looking into that mirror of consciousness, and you’re wiping away that which is unreal…the peeling away of this illusory ‘I’…the peeling away of this cataract, of this illusory identity.”

                It seems the non-dual teachers, like Mooji, recognize that it is a rare person who can simply be told to “get off it” and they will be able to do it. I like to point that out, because I think it’s more helpful. You seem to prefer not to give credit to any sort of “path.” If so, I’m sure it’s because you think this “advice” is more helpful. 😉

                    1. Don’t know if I like it or not because outside of any context it’s hard to know exactly what it means. What does “it” mean, in particular? And please say what else was said or written.

                    2. Well, I don’t remember. But the topic was spirit and trouble as usual.

                      ‘It’s all’ meant everything.

                      I’ve no appetite to make texts wrong. But no matter what texts say, nothing changes.

                    3. Okay. I was just curious, Btw, your latest post is very good too. I might post a comment on it later.

                      Well, hello and goodbye. 😉 Or, good night. It’s late here. Have a good one. 😛

            1. Not all, really. Heavily influenced by Ronism. I don’t know all new age, either. I know what I’ve been told, read, experienced. I think it’s mixed goods and bads. But I get suspicious when I see some things becoming as mainstream as psychology.

  2. You wrote, “Ethics and self denial go together, but in reverse. It is the opposite than what they preach. You are ethical. Your will is ethical, naturally. Through self denial, you can make it unethical.
    Those people that need to be contained so they wont harm others, have already engaged in denying themselves, to a great degree. That’s why they harm others. They do to others what they do to themselves.”

    Very good! My congratulations to you for saying this. Most people will never see the truth of this.

Leave a Reply

