Work

“Do you work or are you one of those kids his parents give money to?”

To that I could answer “How do you know that kid doesn’t work for his parents?”

Apparently, some have made a distinction between offering something and working. And although that distinction is not precise, it is very authoritarian on the same time.

Apparently ‘work’ is that which pays with money. So that would mean that if I washed your dishes, it shouldn’t count as work, as you wouldn’t be paying me money for it. But if I washed dishes at a restaurant, and got paid back, then it would count.

How could one offer something to me? I could think of an infinity of ways to. A mere ‘good morning’ or a smile -if meant- could be an offering. A useful tip or an emotional uplift could be one too. Anything given (offered) from one to another is an offering.

“But those don’t pay” but could argue. Well, what is pay but an offering given back to the one who offered first? Money can be pay (unless it’s grabbed) and friendship given back to friendship offered can be pay as well. And what do you know -much like money- friendship could get grabbed too!

People are naturally willing to offer by any means possible. And naturally it is not a pain to do so. It is the being forced to or not allowed to that could make one reluctant to offer. What if you said “hi” to somebody and he didn’t reply back or grinned instead of saluting you? Of course, he has the perfect right to talk or not. But wouldn’t you feel reluctant to say “hi” next time you saw him? Couldn’t the same occur with being genuinely kind or anything else?

‘Money can’t buy me love” said the Beatles that I don’t listen to. That is true, unless it isn’t. I don’t see why a loving person who offered ample love to those around him shouldn’t receive money or anything else in exchange. Why not? Well, there can be a ‘why not’ as well. Money and ‘work’ -since they are not necessarily offered nor asked for on a voluntary basis- have been connected to suffering and not to love, by those who practice that. So one who offers money involuntarily might ask for the storekeeper’s submission along with the bought products. However, there is no reason on Earth why somebody ought to agree with such a thing. And that is why I wrote that previous article. If one suffers, if he so chooses to, it doesn’t mean the rest should follow. Suffering is a ‘no-no’ from life, not from Spyros. If somebody -for reasons only he knows- is stuck at suffering, he could be helped out, if he so wants to. But to suffer too in turn is no solution. It is perpetuating and multiplying his suffering, and making it your own too, as well as giving it to others, as well. Eventually, somebody will need to handle it. And those are usually the guys that most freely offer the most –those who could be given coal and make gold out of it.

So, although I am a liberty-loving person, I also tell myself to feel free to work, as I don’t count as work those things I ought to suffer for. In fact work that is not voluntary is no work at all for me. And when I do work, I want to do it with my heart, and not have to watch the clock all the time, waiting for the time to get home, as if I was sitting on spikes.

Leave a Reply

